Zainab Takes New York

Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself...

Zainab Takes New York
Ayesha Harruna Attah
Our Price:
NZ$ 27.99
Paperback
When not in stock, International import eta 7-19 days
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Option:
  • Click for larger view
Quantity:
 
 
' A sweet, charming, funny story about finding friendship, finding yourself, and love' Netgalley Reviewer' I was waiting for a book like this!' Netgalley Reviewer***INCLUDED IN THE AFRICA CENTER' S ROUND-UP OF 50 NOTABLE AFRICAN BOOKS OF 2021***___________________________________Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself. . . She' s moving to New York City to pursue her lifelong dream to become an illustrator, but she doesn' t just want to get a job. She' s also on a mission to make enough money to go on a night out, buy a whole bottle of wine (not just a glass) and, most importantly of all, to fall in love. But as she grows accustomed to the hustle and bustle of city life - with the help of her new roommate Mary Grace, and life-long friend, Densua - she begins to hear the voices of her ancestors in her mind. . . Could understanding her family' s past hold the key to Zainab' s future? A charming romcom about one woman learning to fall in love in one of the most magical cities on earth, Ayesha Harruna Attah' s novel is perfect for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin, Kiley Reid and Angela Makholwa. ___________________________________Readers love Zainab Takes New York. . . ' If you' re looking for a cute fun read, here is your next book' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars' This was just the most beautiful book, from it' s gorgeous cover to the immersive storyline. I haven' t read anything quite as engaging as this in recent years!' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars' Ayesha has a way of writing that makes it hard to put the book down. ' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars' This book is filled with so many lessons from incredible characters. ' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars' Charming' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars___________________________________Praise for Ayesha Harruna Attah:' Beautifullywritten story that stimulates rich mental imagery' ***** Reader Review' Very beautifully written' ***** Reader Review' One of the best books I' ve read in the last 10 years!' ***** Reader Review' Amazing worth reading' ***** Reader Review' I couldn' t put this book down' ***** Reader Review' Thank you for a beautiful story' ***** Reader Review
Ayesha Harruna Attah is a Ghanaian-born writer living in Senegal. She was educated at Mount Holyoke College, Columbia University, and New York University. She is the author of the Commonwealth Writers Prize-nominated Harmattan Rain, Saturdays Shadows, The Hundred Wells of Salaga, currently translated into four languages, and The Deep Blue Between, a book for young adults. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, New York Times Magazine, Elle Italia, Asymptote and the 2010 Caine Prize Writers' Anthology.