The Truth About Her

The Truth About Her
Jacqueline Maley
Our Price:
NZ$ 29.99
Paperback
Eta 3-5 days from NZ Market Release
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Option:
  • Click for larger view
Quantity:
 
 
How can you write other people' s stories, when you won' t admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler. ' I loved The Truth About Her. It' s an intelligent, compelling, nuanced tale of guilt, culpability, pride, shame and atonement. But most of all, it' s a love letter to daughters, from the mothers who raise them. An astoundingly good debut. ' Annabel CrabbJournalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs. The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey' s mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey' s story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer. PRAISE FOR THE TRUTH ABOUT HER' A stunning novel, sharply observed, beautifully written, enthralling. ' Julia Baird' Read the first sentence of Jacqueline Maley' s debut novel, and you will be in it until the end. Electrifying, deeply unsettling and so, so satisfying. And, if you' ve ever tried to manage the sharp end of a career with the blunt demands of parenthood, fiercely recognisable. ' Meg Mason, author of Sorrow and Bliss' I loved The Truth About Her. I could not put it down - whip-smart, sexy and with so much heart - and god, that ending packed a punch. The sort of book that all mothers need to read. ' Eliza Henry- Jones, author of In the Quiet and Ache
Jacqueline Maley is a columnist and senior writer for the Sydney Morning Herald and Age newspapers, where she writes about politics, people and social affairs. She has also worked on staff at The Guardian in London and at The Australian Financial Review, as well as contributing to numerous other publications including Gourmet Traveller and Marie Claire. In 2016 she won the Kennedy Award for Outstanding Columnist. She lives in Sydney with her daughter and partner.