She's Too Pretty to Burn

She's Too Pretty to Burn
Wendy Heard
RRP:
NZ$ 24.99
Our Price:
NZ$ 18.74
Paperback
h208 x 135mm - 336pg
29 Mar 2022 US
International import eta 7-19 days
9781250821263
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Quantity:
 
 
The summer is winding down in San Diego. Veronica is bored, caustically charismatic, and uninspired in her photography. Nico is insatiable, subversive, and obsessed with chaotic performance art. They' re artists first, best friends second. But that was before Mick. Delicate, lonely, magnetic Mick: the perfect subject, and Veronica' s dream girl. The days are long and hot-full of adventure-and soon they are falling in love. Falling so hard, they never imagine what comes next. One fire. Two murders. Three drowning bodies. One suspect . . . one stalker. This is the summer they won' t survive. Inspired by The Picture of Dorian Gray, this sexy psychological thriller explores the intersections of love, art, power, and violence. For fans of E. Lockhart, Lauren Oliver, and Kara Thomas. Christy Ottaviano Books
An O Magazine 42 LGBTQ Books That Will Change the Literary Landscape This Spring Selection A Cosmo LGBTQ+ Books in 2021 to Add to Your Reading List Selection A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection A smoldering, hypnotic thrill-ride. Heard' s YA debut crackles and pops with electric psychological suspense. --Kit Frick, author of See All the Stars, All Eyes on Us, and I Killed Zoe SpanosAn expertly plotted deep dive into a complex web of friendship, desire, and murder. --Mindy McGinnis, author of Female of the Species A gritty, compulsively readable thriller that shimmers with California heat. She' s Too Pretty to Burn will pull you into the dark twists of the underground art scene--and the jagged embrace of first love. --Hannah Capin, author of Foul Is Fair A romantic, fast-paced thriller inspired by a classic. The story unravels in colorful, electric prose. . . leading to exhilarating and twisty final third. This dark, winding novel expertly interweaves suspense and romance. A wild and satisfying romp. --Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review This thriller is expertly paced, with Heard starting out slow to introduce her flawed, complex teen protagonists and later escalating events into a page-turning crescendo. With the already intriguing premise of a lesbian thriller that takes inspiration from Portrait of Dorian Gray in its focus on a single picture' s effect (if not the theme of aging), Heard follows through on the promises this concept offers while deftly integrating social media and a thriller plot with creepy, well-executed twists. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children' s Books, Starred ReviewHeard paints a mesmerizing portrait of love and betrayal amidst a slow-burn thriller. . . and once the murders begin, it' s impossible to look away. --Diana Urban, author of All Your Twisted Secrets"An anxiety-ridden ride as two girls' lives crash together through secrets, love and danger. There is masterful tension throughout the story as Mick and Veronica' s lives pull and tangle together and they find themselves in over their heads and fighting for their lives. I burned through the final 50 pages, desperate to see how it ended and was left with literal goosebumps at the final lines. Captivating and stunningly visual, fans of Lauren Oliver' s Panic will love this book and be hungry for more by Wendy Heard. " --Aiden Thomas, author of Cemetery Boys"A powder keg of psychological suspense that recognizes the dark side lurking within all of us, this thriller had me riveted right from the very first page. "--Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving and White Rabbit "She' s Too Pretty to Burn holds you by the throat until the very last page. Heard has written a perfect, ultra-modern teenage noir of early queer love and the battle to resist our most destructive impulses. Ambition is truly a killer. "--Adam Sass, author of Surrender Your Sons"Veronica and Mick' s complex, compelling relationship grounds this intense and unrelenting thriller, full of impossible choices, betrayals, mistakes, and danger. " --Kate Alice Marshall, author of I Am Still Alive and Rules for VanishingGorgeously written and expertly paced, Wendy Heard' s She' s Too Pretty to Burn is an intense, wild ride that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat until its stunning conclusion. --Liz Lawson, author of The Lucky Ones This psychological thriller is sure to be popular with teens. A sapphic romance with elements of art, danger, and obsession, it is recommended for YA library collections. --School Library Journal
Wendy Heard is the author of two adult thrillers: The Kill Club and Hunting Annabelle, which Kirkus Reviews praised as "a diabolically plotted creep show from a writer to watch. " She is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America, is a contributor at Crimereads. com, and co-hosts the Unlikeable Female Characters podcast. Wendy lives in Los Angeles, California. She' s Too Pretty to Burn marks her YA debut. wendyheard. com

In stock - for items in stock we aim to dispatch the next business day. For delivery in NZ allow 2-5 business days, with rural taking a wee bit longer.

Locally sourced in NZ - stock comes from a NZ supplier with an approximate delivery of 7-15 business days.

International Imports - stock is imported into NZ, depending on air or sea shipping option from the international supplier stock can take 10-30 working days to arrive into NZ. 

Pre-order Titles - delivery will vary depending on where the title is published, if local stock is available in NZ then 5-7 business days, for international imports it can be 10-30 business days. In all cases we will access the quickest supply option.

Delivery Packaging - we ship all items in cardboard sleeves or by box with either packing paper or corn starch chips. (We avoid using plastics bubble bags)

Tracking - Orders are delivered by track and trace courier and are fully insured, tracking information will be sent by email once dispatched.

View our full Order & Delivery information