Railway Girls #02: Secrets of the Railway Girls

Railway Girls #02: Secrets of the Railway Girls

Maisie Thomas
Our Price:
NZ$ 24.00
Paperback
When not in stock, International import eta 7-19 days
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Option:
  • Click for larger view
Quantity:
 
 
The second novel in the uplifting railway girls series that shows just how important friendship and love is in a time of uncertainty and change. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell. Manchester, November 1940 As the war continues and secrets threaten the railway girls, they will discover the true meaning of friendship. --------------------------------- For Dot, her job on the railways is everything. Transporting parcels around the country gives her pride that she is doing her bit for the war effort, but a growing friendship causes problems when home and work collide. Joan loves her boyfriend Bob dearly, but when tragedy strikes, her heart is torn apart, and she is forced to make a decision that could hurt those she loves most. Meanwhile Mabel has finally found a place to call home and her relationship seems to be going from strength to strength. However, the relentless bombing in the Christmas blitz is about to destroy everything she holds dear, and she will need her friends' courage and generosity now more than ever. Brought together by their work on Manchester' s railways, the three women find that with the support and encouragement of each other, they can get through even the most challenging of times.
Maisie Thomas was born and brought up in Manchester, which provides the location for her Railway Girls novels. She loves writing stories with strong female characters, set in times when women needed determination and vision to make their mark. The Railway Girls series is inspired by her great aunt Jessie, who worked as a railway clerk during the First World War. Maisie now lives on the beautiful North Wales coast with her railway enthusiast husband, Kevin, and their two rescue cats. They often enjoy holidays chugging up and down the UK' s heritage steam railways.