Penhallow Dynasty #06: The Redemption of Philip Thane

Penhallow Dynasty #06: The Redemption of Philip Thane

Lisa Berne
Our Price:
NZ$ 29.99
Trade Paperback
9781529095081
28/12/2021
International import eta 7-19 days
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Quantity:
 
 
' One of the most exciting historical fiction writers in a long time' - Julia Quinn on Lisa Berne, author of the Netflix series BridgertonHow many times can a rake get it wrong . . . before he becomes Mr Right? Philip Thane - rogue, rake, and scoundrel extraordinaire - hadn' t wanted to show up in the little town of Whittlesey to give a speech. He also didn' t expect to somehow find himself stuck in time, waking up every morning to live exactly the same day over and over again. On the plus side, it' s giving him time to further his acquaintance with the delightful Miss Margaret Allen, in town to research the book she' s writing. And Philip has no doubt she' ll fall starry-eyed into his arms, just like so many other ladies of the ton have done before. Yet Miss Allen stands firm against his wiles, day after day. How is it even possible? Why won' t she change her mind? What must he do to win her heart? Maybe, just maybe, it isn' t Margaret who needs to change, but rather a certain rogue, who - if only he knew it - is head over heels in love . . . and badly in need of redemption. The Redemption of Philip Thane is Bridgerton meets Groundhog Day in this rip-roaring regency romantic comedy for fans of Julia Quinn, Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.
One of the most exciting new historical writers in a long time -- Julia Quinn, bestselling author of Bridgerton There' s no other way to describe this fizzy historical romance than enchanting. The wry humour and witty banter explode off the page from the start . . . It' s champagne in book form - bubbly, fun, and intoxicating far more quickly than one might anticipate . . . a breezy, fizzy read that will cut through even the darkest winter doldrums * Entertainment Weekly * Attention, Bridgerton fans: if you' re ready to delve deeper into the world of historical romances . . . Lisa Berne is a fun place to start * PopSugar * Berne' s exceptional romance debut . . . will dazzle readers with its irresistible mix of graceful writing tempered with just the right dash of crisp wit, splendidly captured Regency setting and atmosphere, and beautifully nuanced characters * Booklist * A masterful Regency debut that explores pride and prejudices . . . A sheer delight -- Kirkus, starred review Berne' s Regency romance sparkles with dry, subtle wit . . . Berne smoothly works in social commentary . . . while championing the righteous rage and suppressed longings of mistreated women, updating Austenian sensibilities for the twenty-first-century reader * Publishers Weekly * a Regency riff on the movie Groundhog Day. . . sublime. . . brilliantly enhanced by a stellar cast of characters and generous measures of the author' s wry wit and wondrous sense of whimsy. * Booklist, Starred Review * UNPUTDOWNABLE! This book consumed me. Truly one of the absolute best romances I' ve ever read! -- Sophie Jordan, New York Times bestselling author Jane Austen would approve. Strongly recommended -- The Historical Novels Review, Historical Novel Society Will delight Regency romance readers on the hunt for a new voice in the genre . . . Berne' s debut is a lingering homage to the heyday of the Regency historical romance - a lovingly crafted story of opposites forced together by Society' s censure, quirky side-characters and stolen kisses -- Sarah MacLean * Washington Post *
Lisa Berne read her first Georgette Heyer book at fourteen, and was instantly captivated. Later she became a graduate student, a grant writer and an investment banker, but is thrilled to be returning to her roots and writing her own historical romance novels. She lives with her family in the Pacific Northwest. The Redemption of Philip Thane is the latest book in her regency romance series.