Heatstroke

Heatstroke

Hazel Barkworth
Our Price:
NZ$ 24.99
Paperback
When not in stock, International import eta 7-19 days
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Option:
  • Click for larger view
Quantity:
 
 
' Painfully real, and so beautifully written I wanted to stay within its pages forever' CLARE MACKINTOSH' Stylish and sensual' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE' A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets' NELL FRIZZELL' Sexy, sensual, difficult, provocative. . . definitely one of the best reads of the summer' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS' Pulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped' RENEE KNIGHT---A dazzling debut novel of a dark love affair, set to ignite a debate. FOR FANS OF ZOE HELLER, EMMA CLINE, EXPECTATION AND MY DARK VANESSA. ---The summer burns with secrets. . . It is too hot to sleep. To work. To be questioned time and again by the police. At the beginning of a stifling, sultry summer, everything shifts irrevocably when Lily doesn' t come home one afternoon. Rachel is Lily' s teacher. Her daughter Mia is Lily' s best friend. The girls are fifteen - almost women, still children. As Rachel becomes increasingly fixated on Lily' s absence, she finds herself breaking fragile trusts and confronting impossible choices she never thought she' d face. It wasn' t supposed to happen like this. Intoxicating and compulsive, HEATSTROKE is a darkly gripping, thought-provoking novel of crossed boundaries, power and betrayal, that plays with expectations at every turn. ---' I couldn' t tear myself away' ERIN KELLY' Compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing' KIRSTIN INNES' A scorching tale of obsession, betrayal and the wounds that mothers and daughters inflict on each other in the name of love' TAMMY COHEN
Painfully real, and so beautifully written I wanted to stay within its pages forever. Heatstroke is unsettling, challenging and utterly immersive - Clare MackintoshStylish and sensualTense, sultry, unsettling, sweaty and evocative . . . A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets - Nell FrizzellPulls you into its sweaty interior and keeps you gripped to the end. Darkly atmospheric and so well writtenSexy, sensual, difficult, provocative - I was hooked for every twist, turn and revelation. This is definitely one of the best reads of the summer. I was blown away - Laura Jane WilliamsI gulped this whole thing down in one sitting. It' s compulsive, sticky and full of gorgeous writing - Kirstin InnesRaw, unsparing and almost unbearably tender. Perfect sentences swim gracefully across every page, overlaying a narrative that delights in wrong-footing the readers' assumptions. I couldn' t tear myself awayA scorching tale of obsession, betrayal and the wounds that mothers and daughters inflict on each other in the name of love
Hazel grew up in Stirlingshire and North Yorkshire before studying English at Oxford. She then moved to London where she spent her days working as a cultural consultant, and her nights dancing in a pop band at glam rock clubs. Hazel is a graduate of both the Oxford University MSt in Creative Writing and the Curtis Brown Creative Novel-Writing course. She now works in Oxford, where she lives with her partner. Heatstroke is her first novel.