Haven Point

Haven Point

Virginia Hume
Our Price:
NZ$ 57.99
Hardback
When not in stock, International import eta 7-19 days
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Option:
  • Click for larger view
Quantity:
 
 
In 1944, Maren Larsen is a blonde beauty from a small Minnesota farming town, determined to do her part to help the war effort-and to see the world beyond her family' s cornfields. As a cadet nurse at Walter Reed Medical Center, she' s swept off her feet by Dr. Oliver Demarest, a handsome Boston Brahmin whose family spends summers in an insular community on the rocky coast of Maine. Maren soon discovers that the residents of Haven Point are skeptical of newcomers, and their quick wartime marriage raises eyebrows. Although the chilly reception gives her pause, Maren can' t deny the charm of the old house on the cliff, and she vows to make Oliver' s family her own. But during the summer of 1970, tragedy strikes otherwise idyllic Haven Point-and in the aftermath, Oliver and Maren' s seventeen-year-old daughter, Annie, vows never to return. Nearly fifty years later, Maren' s granddaughter, Skye, has arrived in Maine to help scatter Annie' s ashes. Maren knows that Skye inherited her mother' s view of Haven Point, and that she finds the place-and the people-snobbish and petty. But she also knows that Annie never told her daughter the whole truth about what happened that fateful summer. Over seven decades of a changing America, through wars and storms, betrayals and reconciliations, Haven Point explores what it means to belong to a place, and to a family, that holds as tight to its traditions as it does its secrets.
Praise for Haven Point: Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Beatriz Williams will appreciate this sweeping, multigenerational family story. " --Booklist"Haven Point is a novel that had me making excuses to go to bed early, so that I could return to the story that had me daydreaming all day. I loved the characters, setting, historical references, dialogue, romance and mystery. Virginia Hume has written a book that I can' t wait to recommend to all of my friends. " --Dana Perino, former White House Press SecretaryUnfolding from WWII to the present day, this delicious, intricate novel is woven together with romance, tragedy, family secrets and breath-taking surprises. I will read Haven Point over and over. I' ll give it to my friends. I' ll read anything Virginia Hume ever writes. --Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Summer"Haven Point checks all the boxes for a great summer read: generations of strong women, an idyllic but insular coastal town, and an emotionally-rich story that explores the peaks and valleys of life in all its complicated glory. The Demarest family will stay with you long after their final secrets have been revealed. " --Jamie Brenner, nationally bestselling author of The Forever Summer Haven Point has all of the elements of a great beach read: sparkly summer town, beautiful people, sun-kissed cocktail parties and rambling mansions overlooking the sea. But don' t be fooled: No one is perfect. Hume has created unforgettable characters in the three generations of Demarest women whose stories unravel the dark secrets swirling around Haven Point, all while testing their character and family bond. A powerful novel of families trying to understand the forces that shape them just as the ocean shapes the elegant coastline they' re summering on. --Brooke Lea Foster, author of Summer Darlings "A shimmering debut novel about four generations, a summer community in coastal Maine, and the secrets, grief and prejudices that are unwittingly passed down through the years. Rewarding and atmospheric, with deeply drawn characters and a setting you won' t soon forget. Delicious!" --Jennie Fields, author of Atomic Love
VIRGINIA HUME is a freelance writer and editor in Washington, D. C. Her early career was spent in public affairs and political communications. She lives in Chevy Chase, Maryland with her husband, their daughters, and an under-groomed bichon named Chester.