Consider the Octopus

Consider the Octopus
Nora Raleigh Baskin, Gae Polisner
RRP:
NZ$ 37.99
Savings:
NZ$ 9.50 (a 25% discount)
Our Price:
NZ$ 28.49
Hardback
h208 x 135mm - 272pg
5 Apr 2022 US
International import eta 7-19 days
9781250793515
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Quantity:
 
 
Jeremy "JB" Barnes is looking forward to spending the summer before seventh grade hanging on the beach. But his mother, a scientist, has called for him to join her aboard a research ship where, instead, he' ll spend his summer seasick and bored as he stares out at the endless plastic, microbeads, and other floating debris that make up the Great Pacific Garbage Pile. Miles and miles away, twelve-year-old Sidney Miller is trying to come up with an alternate activity worthy of convincing her overprotective parents that she can skip summer camp. When Jeremy is asked to find the contact information for a list of important international scientists and invite them to attend a last-minute Emergency Global Summit, he' s excited to have a chance to actually do something. But how could he have known that the Sidney Miller he emailed was not the famous marine biologist he had been tasked with contacting, rather a girl posting blogs from her bedroom-let alone that she would come aboard the ship? This is a comedy of errors, mistaken identity, and synchronicity. Above all, it is a heartfelt story about friendship and the power of kids to step up and save our oceans and our Earth, perfect for fans of Lynne Kelly' s Song for a Whale.
A breath of fresh air. Clever plotting sprinkled with humor and accessible STEM references made this a joyful, bingeable adventure you won' t want to put down. --Christine Taylor-Butler, author of The Lost Tribes series Funny, fast-paced, and super-engaging, Consider the Octopus is sure to inspire readers to embrace their strengths and change their world. --Joy McCullough, author of A Field Guide to Getting LostSuperlative writing and character development uplift this timely story . . . An inspiring tale of friendship and conservation. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review With nonstop action . . . and empathetic characters, this is a fast, fun read. A sure winner for readers interested in the environment and adventure, or even just in adventure. --School Library Journal
Nora Raleigh Baskin is the ALA Schneider Family Book Award-winning author of Anything but Typical. She is the author of many best-loved books for kids, including most recently, Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story Nora lives with her family in Connecticut. NoraBaskin. comGae Polisner is a lawyer by trade, but a writer by calling. She lives on Long Island with her husband, two sons, and a suspiciously fictional-looking dog named Charlie. gaepolisner. com

In stock - for items in stock we aim to dispatch the next business day. For delivery in NZ allow 2-5 business days, with rural taking a wee bit longer.

Locally sourced in NZ - stock comes from a NZ supplier with an approximate delivery of 7-15 business days.

International Imports - stock is imported into NZ, depending on air or sea shipping option from the international supplier stock can take 10-30 working days to arrive into NZ. 

Pre-order Titles - delivery will vary depending on where the title is published, if local stock is available in NZ then 5-7 business days, for international imports it can be 10-30 business days. In all cases we will access the quickest supply option.

Delivery Packaging - we ship all items in cardboard sleeves or by box with either packing paper or corn starch chips. (We avoid using plastics bubble bags)

Tracking - Orders are delivered by track and trace courier and are fully insured, tracking information will be sent by email once dispatched.

View our full Order & Delivery information