The Cheap Handyman

True (and Disastrous) Tales from a (Home Improvement Expert) Guy Who Should Know Better

The Cheap Handyman
B S Harris
Our Price:
NZ$ 30.99
Paperback
h213 x 140mm - 224pg
1 Jun 2021 US
International import eta 7-19 days
9781982150983
Out Of Stock
Currently no stock in-store, stock is sourced to your order
Quantity:
 
 
This Old House meets #HomeImprovementFails in this collection of laugh-out-loud essays, perfect for fans of Nick Offerman, CarTalk, or The Red Green Show. "This book is all the fix-it you need for your hurt home improvement ego. " -Harrison Scott Key, Thurber-prize winning author of The World' s Largest Man Meet Brian Harris, a (mostly) retired, self-proclaimed jack of all trades with a penchant for DIY and inventive money-saving schemes. Armed with a soldering gun, his trusty nine-foot ladder, and of course the handyman' s secret weapon-duct tape-Brian' s projects start out as simple chores: trim a tree branch, stain the cedar siding on his home. . . but all too often they end in costly disaster. Sometimes he' s trying to do the right thing, like the time he wrecked his pool while saving some baby ducks. Often, he channels his inner MacGyver: he once taped his hockey skate back together so he could finish his rec-league game, only to get suspended for falling on the referee when it broke (again). But usually he' s just being, well, cheap! Like the time he inadvertently destroyed a $295 car key fob because he wouldn' t pay the (outrageous) $10 fee to have the battery professionally replaced. In The Cheap Handyman, Brian anthologizes his hard-won wisdom, teaching us how (not) to cut down a tree, what to do if a stray cat has kittens in your HVAC system, three very incorrect uses for duct tape, the manifold hazards of pool maintenance, and more. Filled with unforgettable true stories from the everyday life of an average guy just trying to save a few bucks, The Cheap Handyman is a delightful tribute to anyone who has ever thought, "Sure! I can do that!"
"Let the door knobs fall off and the faucets drip and the electrical fires burn! Put down the fire extinguisher and pick up The Cheap Handyman, because this book is all the fix-it you need for your hurt home improvement ego. B. S Harris makes you feel instantly better about your own ineptitude, I promise. Also, can someone call 9-1-1 for me? " - Harrison Scott Key, Thurber-prize winning author of The World' s Largest Man "There' s no better way to avoid pain, expense, and embarrassment than by learning from somebody else' s mistakes. " -Red Green
B. S. Harris is a father and husband, now retired from his "day job" but still finding ways to fill his days as a cheap handyman. He grew up in an average, hard-working home and was fortunate enough to earn a post-secondary degree. He is an amateur athlete and musician, and a lifelong motorcycle enthusiast. He and his very understanding family live in Southern Ontario, Canada.

In stock - for items in stock we aim to dispatch the next business day. For delivery in NZ allow 2-5 business days, with rural taking a wee bit longer.

Locally sourced in NZ - stock comes from a NZ supplier with an approximate delivery of 7-15 business days.

International Imports - stock is imported into NZ, depending on air or sea shipping option from the international supplier stock can take 10-30 working days to arrive into NZ. 

Pre-order Titles - delivery will vary depending on where the title is published, if local stock is available in NZ then 5-7 business days, for international imports it can be 10-30 business days. In all cases we will access the quickest supply option.

Delivery Packaging - we ship all items in cardboard sleeves or by box with either packing paper or corn starch chips. (We avoid using plastics bubble bags)

Tracking - Orders are delivered by track and trace courier and are fully insured, tracking information will be sent by email once dispatched.

View our full Order & Delivery information